Executive Director appointed as AM

Executive Director Dr Dennis Young has been appointed as a Member (AM) in the Order of Australia, in the Australia Day Honours after a lifetime of service to our community, specifically for his work in the alcohol and other drug sector.
Dennis has been Executive Director and Superintendent of HOA since 1988, overseeing its growth to three states and over forty locations. Under his leadership the organisation has expanded to four independent charitable not-for-profit organisations. In 1988, HOA was just a small organisation with three program staff and a couple of administration workers.
As the Executive Director, Dennis has championed our mission every single day both in the broader community and in the sector. Dennis’ long career has been dedicated to helping the community.
His Citation reads:

Dr Dennis Charles YOUNG, Bundamba Qld 4304
”For significant service to community health in Queensland through alcohol and drug treatment support programs, and to the community”.

Service includes:
•         The Drug Awareness and Relief Foundation: Executive Director and Superintendent, since 1988.
•         Mental Health Association Queensland Ltd: Chair, 2009-2011. Vice-Chair, 2007-2009. Treasurer, 2005-2007. Executive Director and Secretary, since 2011.
•         Australian College of Community Services Ltd: Executive Director and Secretary, since 2011. Vice-Chair, 2009-2011.
•         Drug ARM Australasia: Executive Director and Secretary, since 1980.
•         Queensland Network of Alcohol and other Drugs Agency (QNADA): President, 2007-2012. Vice-President, 2012-2014. Board Member 2014-2015.
•         Australian Winter School Conference Committee: Chair, 2009-2012.
•         Australian National Council on Drugs: Council Member, 1999-2011. Chair, 'Of Substance' Magazine, 2007-2011.
•         Alcohol and Drug Council of Australia (now defunct): Chair, Workforce Development Working Group, 2010-2014.
•         Queensland Coalition for Action on Alcohol: Secretary, since 2014.
•         Queensland Drug Education Coordinating Committee: Committee Member, 2008-2010.
•         Queensland Illicit Drug Diversion Initiative Reference Committee: Director, 2000-2006.
•         Community Council of Australia: Director, since 2012.
•         Compass Queensland: Director, 2014-2015.
•         Former Parliamentary Members Association Queensland: Secretary/Treasurer, since 2014.
•         Toowong Rotary Club: Member, since 2012.
•         Brisbane/Mid City Rotary: Member, 1992-2012.
•         Spring Hill Lions Club: Member, 1983-1992.
•         Toowong Lions Club: Member, 1975-1983.
•         Kelvin Grove State College Alumni: President, since 2014.
•         Transplant Australia: Member, since 2006.
•         Metro South Health Clinical Ethics Committee: Member, since 2013.
•         SAHS Mental Health Clinical Network: Network Member, 2008-2010.
•         Ipswich West Moreton District Health Council: Council Member, 1996-2000.
•         Queensland Police Service: Officer, 1966-1974 and 1977-1988
•         Parliament of Queensland: Member for Baroona, 1974-1977.
Dennis has also previously had his work recognised through a Citation for Fraud Investigation and Commendation for Fraud Investigations awarded by the Queensland Police Service, A Silver Jubilee Medal and a Centenary Medal.
In the Queensland Times, Dennis thanked the many workers in the alcohol and other drug sector workers who have toiled alongside him over the decades. He hopes that the award will somehow be able to raise the profile of the work done by the alcohol and other drug sector and highlight the need for more resources. Dennis said in the QT, “The men and women of the sector are hard-working, dedicated and passionate, but their work is not always fully appreciated.”